First, let’s see what the things that you changed against the production are. To do that, switch to the
go to the dashboard, and click the button Show Project Diff on the right.
To see a detailed diff of the configuration changes in
Sample Python transformation, click the three dots on the right
and then Compare with production.
You should see a highlighted configuration diff.
With many changes to the configuration, it might be difficult to find what has changed. It helps to see the changes in context. To do that, uncheck the checkbox Show changed parts only.
Back on the project diff page, note the message above the list of changed configurations. It says that your production storage will not be affected by the merge. This means that no tables will be created in production unless you run the configurations that created them, and no data will be transferred from the branch to production.
For example, the table
bitcoin_transactions which you
created in branch will not be transferred to production,
and if the branch is deleted after the merge, the branch version of the table will be discarded as well. The table
bitcoin_transactions will be created by running the HTTP extractor in production after you merge it.
Also, if you want to drop a column from a table in the branch, you need to drop that column from the production table as well after you merge the branch.
Continue to the last part of our tutorial where we will show you how to merge the branch back to production.