Each KBC component (extractor, writer, transformation bucket, etc.) has configurations which can be created through the UI.
All configurations are saved into Storage. When modified, their new version is created and the old one is kept in history. Most components, with the exception of a few old ones, enable you to see the configuration versions in their configuration detail:
When running the configuration, its active version (the one with the green tick-mark) will be used.
Click on any of the versions to get to the version management page.
There you can
Important: Component configurations do not count towards your project quota.
Copy any configuration version to a new configuration by clicking on the Copy button next to the selected configuration:
Name the new configuration:
Once it is created, you can navigate to it using the bread-crumbs navigation:
The new configuration is completely independent on the old one. You may modify or delete either of them without affecting the other one.
Compare two consecutive versions and see the modifications as a diff of the raw JSON configuration. Each component automatically generates a description of the change, so the following version represents a change in the level/level sheet in the Google Drive extractor configuration:
Clicking the Compare versions button shows a detailed diff:
Removed lines are highlighted in red, added lines are green. The diff above shows that only the name of the output table was modified.
If you need to return to an older version of the configuration, you can also rollback to it (the other option is to make its copy). Rolling back a configuration version actually means that a new configuration version is created (and marked as active) with the contents of the selected version. Rollback is therefore quite a safe operation.
Click the Rollback button next to the version you want to return to:
Confirm the operation:
And a new configuration version is created:
To delete a configuration, click the bin icon in the configuration list or the Move to Trash button in the configuration detail. They both move the configuration to Trash.
Each configuration moved to Trash acts as deleted: it is removed from orchestrations, cannot be run and is not displayed. However, it can be recovered. To find Trash, go to Users & Settings and select the Trash tab:
There you can restore a deleted configuration, or permanently remove it. Once deleted from Trash, no configuration can be recovered. If your Trash is filled with a large number of configurations and you want to quickly find the one you need to restore or permanently remove, use the filter and search options in the upper part of the page.
When you restore a configuration, its new version is created. Therefore you can see the complete history in the configuration versions:
For technical reasons, configurations of certain components cannot be restored when deleted (mainly Orchestrator and GoodData Writer). They will still be shown in Trash, but cannot be restored: